Tags

With this pregnancy I have tried to keep up with my same healthy lifestyle like I did with my first. I still work out almost everyday and strive to eat healthy. I feel that by keeping up my muscle strength I have an easier time carrying the baby, going through labor, and reaching my pre baby weight after. Not to mention eating healthy and exercising keeps both me and the baby healthier. I have gotten a lot of comments like “Your Pregnant you don’t need to work out” or “your Pregnant you can eat whatever you want now” I hate when people say stuff like that because really now is the time I should try to be extra healthy. Making sure I am giving my baby all the proper nutrition she needs.

I am now 21 weeks pregnant and have continued working out during this whole pregnancy. I have tried keeping up with doing my same workouts but with modifications here and there to adjust to being pregnant. One of the things that I have had to adjust was Ab exercises. When you are pregnant it is not good for you to lay flat on your back. So because of this I have now incorporated new exercises that still work my core but will also keep me and baby safe.

Opposite Arm as Leg Reach:
Get down on all fours while keeping your back flat and core engaged. Bring opposite arm as leg crunched in towards your stomach then lift them both straight out off the ground. Repeat by bringing them crunched back in towards your stomach. Repeat this exercise for 15 repetitions before switching sides. (To make this harder perform it in a plank position)

DSC_0400DSC_0401

Seated Russian Twist:
Sit on the ground with your knees bent in front of you. Lean back and engage your core in a C sit position. Hold a weight in your hands and perform a twist with it from side to side. Perform 15 repetitions

DSC_0406DSC_0407

Plank Position With Leg Swings:
Get into the Plank position either on your elbows or hands and keep your core engaged with back straight. Hold this position and lift one leg and swing it out to the side. Place it back down and repeat with the other leg. Perfrom 15 repetitions.

DSC_0409DSC_0411

Weighted Lean Back:
Kneel on the ground and hold a weight in your hands in front of your chest. While keeping your back nice and straight exhale and lean back, while inhaling return back to your starting position. Repeat for 15 repetitions.

DSC_0414DSC_0413

Ball Plank into Ball Pike:
Get into a high plank position with your feet resting on your exercise ball. Go straight into a pike position with rolling the ball in towards your body and your bum going straight up into the air. Keep your back straight and your core engaged. Repeat for 15 reps. 

DSC_0415DSC_0417

Twisting Wood Chop with Weight:
Stand with feet a little bit more than shoulder width apart and hold a weight in front of your body. While keeping your arms straight raise the weight up to your right side and “Chop” it down towards the left bottom corner of your body. Keep your arms straight the whole time and let your feet/legs rotate to help you twist. Perform 15 reps on this side before doing the opposite side.

DSC_0421DSC_0422

Remember to use good form while doing these exercises and to stop if you are feeling any painful discomfort that could harm you or the baby. Good luck and try to stay healthy while being pregnant.

-Shauna

