Tags

Okay okay. So I know these are not healthy…actually they are pretty far from healthy haha In our blog, we talk about healthy living and having a healthy balance in our lives. We also support the idea of moderation in all things. Since we have started this blog, I have had a lot of people assume that I do not eat treats or bake unhealthy desserts. The truth is that I really enjoy treats and baking, just not all the time. I really do believe in moderation in everything. For the most part, I eat pretty healthy and I always am aware of what I am eating. But, I do not tell myself that I cannot eat certain foods- I find that if I do this, I want that certain food even more! I usually just focus on the good for me foods so I can get the nutrition that my body needs. That being said, I am going to share my FAVORITE “unhealthy” treat today. But I will warn you, make sure you make them to share because if not, you will likely eat the whole pan…which wouldn’t be in moderation…unfortunately haha

photo 4-15

Scotchies:

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup light karo syrup
  • 1 cup sugar
  • 1 cup peanut butter
  • 5-6 cups Rice Crispy cereal (depending on how gooey you like them- I go more towards the 5 cup gooey treat:) )
  • 6 oz. milk chocolate or semi-sweet chocolate chips (I have used both- I actually like the milk chocolate better, but its pretty sweet, so if you don’t like desserts as sweet, use semi-sweet)
  • 6 oz. butterscotch chips

Directions:

In a saucepan, stir karo syrup and sugar together. Mix well and bring to a light boil (just until bubbles form on the sides).

photo 2-23

 

Turn off the stove top, take the saucepan off the heat and stir in the peanut butter.

photo 1-24

Add Rice Crispy’s and stir well.

photo 2-24

Pour Rice Crispy mixture into a 9×11 baking dish. Pack mixture down until flat.

photo 3-18

 

Melt chocolate chips and butterscotch chips together in the microwave until smooth.

photo 1-25

 

 

photo 2-25

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Pour melted chips over Rice Crispy mixture and spread evenly.

photo 3-19

Let cool until topping is set. Do not put in the fridge. Store in an air-tight container.

photo-65

Hope you enjoy:)

-McKell

