Tags

How is your weekend? It is freezing here! I am not ready for winter again. I don’t know how I am going to handle it come January/February this year, I have complaining about being cold since it hit about 50 degrees a few weeks ago haha! I think last years dreadful and seemingly never ending winter sort of did me in. I am probably going to sign up for an April half marathon to get me motivated to get out the door and run all winter. Last year I was forced to do winter training for a March half marathon, and I actually am really grateful I did because there is NO way I would have gone running a lot of those below zero days if I didn’t have an upcoming race. I need motivation!

Besides running, another past time that I really enjoy is reading. I took an accidentally hiatus from reading new books for a while, but have gotten back into it the last few months. Yay! It is nice to have something stimulating to do in my spare time instead of just watching something on Netflix.

One thing that has gotten me excited to read again has been signing up for “Goodreads.” Do you guys have that? It is an app that helps you find new books. My favorite part is that you can save books in a “want to read” section. This has helped me a lot because now when I hear about a good book, I just jump on Goodreads and put it in my “want to read” spot so that I remember it. Then when I go to the library, I pull it up and choose one of the books on there to check out. It also gives you suggestions of books according to other books you have read and you can see what your friends are reading too. It has been a fun new app to have.  Anyway, if you don’t have it, I really like it!

I just finished the book, “Born to Run” last night. I had heard about this book so many times, but for some reason, never got around to reading it until now. I really enjoyed it and wanted to share my thoughts on it with you today!

220px-Born2run

Born to Run is a book by Christopher McDougall, who has written for Runners World magazine and Mens Health magazine. On the cover of the book, it says, “A hidden tribe, superathletes, and the greatest race the world has ever seen.” That really sums up what the book is about. McDougall travels to Mexico to find a hidden tribe whom are known to be some of the greatest runners in the world, and his book is about that experience. 

The book started out a little slow for me. I’m not sure if that is the books fault or if I just wasn’t in the mind set for this type of book right now. Whatever it was though passed once the story got going.

I ended up really enjoying the book and I learned a lot from it! I feel like this book appeals to a huge variety of readers. There are so many different stories throughout the book, so I think there really is something for everyone. You read about runners who are so strong that it doesn’t even seem real, you read about science and evolution, and you also get a real sense of respect for any level of runner. I also loved the strong females in the book. It was very empowering! I really liked going online while reading the book and doing more research about some of the characters, it was very interesting to read about their journeys and accomplishments!

Born to Run made me appreciate even more how my body functions, and inspired me to continue working towards new running goals. One of my favorite quotes I came across while reading was, “Just move your legs. Because if you don’t think you were born to run, you’re not only denying history, you’re denying who you are” (McDougall, 2009, p. 244).

Overall I would give the book 4/5 stars. I take one star away only because I had a hard time getting into it at first. I would definitely recommend this book to anyone!

Thanks for reading!

-Jaeme

 

