Tags

How about ANOTHER pumpkin recipe?! Obviously we like pumpkin over here! Gotta take full advantage of the pumpkin season right??! I’m a fan of muffins, but I hardly ever make them. A few months ago, I was looking for a recipe and found this healthy pumpkin muffin recipe. It has no refined sugar and has very few ingredients, which is quite different from the good old boxed muffins that I have made in the past. I was pleasantly surprised at how good they were! They really are easy to make and are quite good. I originally found the recipe on Healthy Hungry Girl. I may have added mini semi-sweet chocolate chips on half of them…ya know, just to test it out;) And yep, the chocolate chips (although not quite healthy), did add some points to the goodness (You could add dark chocolate chips to make it a little more healthy, or none at all…either way is great!) All of the changes I made are added in pink.

photo 4-13

Ingredients:

1 1/2 cup whole grain spelt flour (whole wheat flour or whole wheat pastry flour will also work) *I used whole wheat flour
1 tablespoon pumpkin spice (or use cinnamon) *I used cinnamon
1 teaspoon baking powder
1/4 teaspoon baking soda
1/4 teaspoon salt
2 eggs
1/3 cup 100% pure raw honey
1/3 cup melted coconut oil (butter works too) (applesauce may work, but I haven’t tried it and it will probably change the texture of the muffin) *I used canola oil, but butter may have a richer taste (as you probably would have guessed haha)
1 cup pure pumpkin puree (organic, if possible)

*I added about 1/4 cup mini semi-sweet chocolate chips

Instructions

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees F. Line a muffin pan with liners and set aside. Combine all dry ingredients in a large bowl.

photo 1-22 Combine all wet ingredients in a medium bowl. Fold wet ingredients into dry ingredients. Don’t over mix. Scoop large spoonfuls of batter into muffin pan and evenly distribute.

photo 2-22

Bake for 20-25 minutes and until tops are golden brown.

photo 3-17

Store at room temperature for 2-3 days or refrigerate for a week or freeze for longer.

photo 4-13

Instructions:

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees F. Line a muffin pan with liners and set aside.
Combine all dry ingredients in a large bowl.
Combine all wet ingredients in a medium bowl.
Fold wet ingredients into dry ingredients. Don’t over mix.
Scoop large spoonfuls of batter into muffin pan and evenly distribute. Bake for 20-25 minutes and until tops are golden brown. Store at room temperature for 2-3 days or refrigerate for a week or freeze for longer.

Enjoy!

-McKell

