Tags

Apples are one of my favorite fruits. I eat an apple almost everyday and I love trying new varieties. Lucky for me, New York has TONS of different and delicious varieties of apples and I swear new ones come out every year. If you ever come to upstate NY in the fall, some of my favorites here are Cortland, Empire (early season Empire. They get softer in the winter), and Macoun.

One of my friends told me that she made apple chips the other day and how good they were. I thought they sounded like such a yummy snack so I started reading about  the best way to bake them in the oven. I sort of took a bunch of different ideas from websites and made up my own from those. There aren’t really measurements for anything, but I will add a few tips I read from different places at the end.

Baked Apple Chips

unnamed (8)


What you need:

Crispy apples
Lemon juice
Cinnamon
Sugar
Parchment paper

Directions:

Peel your apples and slice them thin. It is best if you have a mandolin, but if not, use a very sharp slicing knife and slice them as thin as you can while making them all even.

Stir apple slices and a few drops of lemon juice in a bowl. Sprinkle cinnamon and sugar over the apples and stir so all slices are lighted coated.

Lay out in a single row on a cookie sheet lined with parchment paper. Bake at 200 degrees F for 2-3 hours or until apple slices are crispy like chips.

Now you have a yummy snack and your house will smell amazing!

Tips:

  • I do not have an apple core remover, so I sliced the apple on each side just until I got to the core.
  • Mine took just under 3 hours to crisp up, but everyones oven is different so you will have to check on them periodically.
  • I did not have parchment paper on hand so I used tin foil and it still worked great. Wax paper is not the same as parchment paper :).
  • Make sure all of your pieces are the same. Slice them thin or they will not dry out.
  • Leave them in the oven after they are done while the oven cools. This helps get them crispier.
  • These would be good even without the cinnamon and sugar! Go ahead and experiment!

Enjoy!

-Jaeme

 

