Tags

I try to make my meals as healthy as I possibly can and substitute in ingredients to make this possible. But sometimes when I do this my little girl is not a huge fan of the meal. I can usual get in a couple bites here and there (which is great with a 2 year old) but every once in awhile I make something for dinner I know she will love.

I found this recipe off Studio5 website a year or so ago and it has been an easy Home-run meal that everyone enjoys. It is simple to through together, packed full with vegetables, and kids LOVE it (Ding Ding Winner) haha

DSC_0401Pineapple Chicken Lo Mein  By: Aimee Krey

I made a few changes to the recipe to make it a little healthier

Ingredients:

1 can (20 ounces) unsweetened pineapple chunks
1 pound boneless, skinless chicken breast, cubed
2 garlic cloves, minced
1 T minced fresh gingerroot
3 T olive oil, divided
2 medium carrots, julienned
1 medium green pepper, julienned
1 medium red pepper, juliened
Large handful of mushrooms
8 ounces whole wheat spaghetti, cooked and drained
3 green onions, sliced
1 T cornstarch
1/3 cup soy sauce
1/3 cup of your favorite teriyaki sauce (I like Soy Vay Very Very Teriyaki)
1 T sesame seeds (optional)

If you want to make this recipe healthier go light on the soy sauce and teriyaki sauce.

Directions:

Drain your pineapple while reserving 1/3 cup of the juice (discarding the remaining juice). Set the pineapple juice aside for later.

In a large skillet or wok, cook the chicken in 2 T of olive oil and add in the garlic and ginger. Cook at medium heat until chicken is no longer pink.

Stir in the carrots, green and red peppers, pineapple chunks, and mushrooms. Cover and cook for 3-5 minutes or until vegetables are crisp-tender.

Stir in spaghetti and onions.

In a small bowl, combine the cornstarch, soy sauce, reserved pineapple juice, and remaining 1 T olive oil. Gradually add this mixture to the chicken noddle mixture. Bring to a boil while stirring for 2 minutes or until thickened.

Stir in teriyaki sauce and sprinkle with sesame seeds if wanted. Serve with a spinach side salad.

DSC_0400DSC_0402

I hope your family enjoys this meal and eats it as well as mine does :) Let me know how you liked it and if you did any changes to make it healthier.

-Shauna

