Tags

Why is it that mornings (and right before bedtime) are always the most insane times of the day? I am one of those people that always thinks they are going to be on time while I’m getting ready, and then I glance at the clock and think, “What the heck? How is it that late?!” Agh I swear, no matter what time I get up I am almost always running late haha.

This is exactly why it is SO easy to either forget to eat breakfast, decide to skip it because you don’t have time, or just grab something on your drive. Well, luckily, there are fast breakfasts that don’t have to just be a piece of toast or cereal (although I will admit I love cereal and could eat it for every meal).

These sandwiches are one of my husbands go to breakfasts as he is running out the door for a hospital shift. He loves them because they are delicious, filling, quick, and he can wrap it up in tin foil and then eat it as soon as he gets to work.

Easy Breakfast Sandwich

unnamed (13)

1. Mix 1 egg with salt, pepper, and a little splash of milk in a small round pyrex dish or in a mug. Place in the microwave for 45 seconds-1 minute (when you hear it “pop” it is done). Make sure to cover it with a paper towel or wax paper, unless you like a messy microwave. Cooking it like this makes the egg fit perfectly onto your sandwich.

unnamed (11)unnamed (12)

All mixed and ready to cook!

2. While your egg is cooking, toast a whole wheat english muffin and cut a slice of cheese.

3. Put sandwich together and enjoy! You can also wrap it in tin foil to eat “on the go”.

*You can definitely add meat to this! A slice a turkey or ham would be great, or I really like the Morning Star sausage patties that you buy in the frozen section. I just wrap it in wax paper and cook it in the microwave according to the package directions.

These are seriously faster to make than the time it takes to go through a drive-thru on your way to work/school/dropping off kids, and they are much better for you too!

Enjoy!

-Jaeme

