Tags

Every year since we moved to New York I have looked forward to apple picking in the fall. There are so many different and delicious varieties of apples here that I had never tried before! We went picking the other week and got tons of apples,
so I wanted to make one of my husbands favorites, apple cinnamon muffins. I read a bunch of reviews on different recipes and settled on this one. It didn’t disappoint and it was actually really easy too (always a plus)!

I made a few very minor adjustments just to make them slightly more healthy. My changes will be in the pink writing. Try these out and see what you think!

Apple Cinnamon Muffins
Original recipe found here
Makes 16 muffins

unnamed (9)

Ingredients
2 cups all-purpose flouruse 2 cups 100% whole wheat flour
3 teaspoons baking powder
1 1/4 teaspoons cinnamon
1/2 baking soda
1 cup sugar-You could use honey or another natural sweetener-I used sugar however
1/2 teaspoon salt
2 eggs
1 cup (8 oz sour cream)-Replace with 1 cup plain greek yogurt 
1/4 cup butter, melted
1 1/2 cup chopped and peeled tart apples

For the topping-you can skip the topping to make them healthier
1/4 cup sugar
3 tablespoons all-purpose flour-use 100% whole wheat flour
1/4 teaspoon ground cinnamon
2 tablespoons cold butter

 

Directions
Combine the dry ingredients in a large bowl. Add the eggs, sour cream, and melted butter. Stir until moistened. Fold in apples. Fill greased or paper-lined muffins cups two-thirds full.

For the topping, combine sugar, flour, and cinnamon. Cut in butter until mixture resembles coarse crumbs. Sprinkle mixture on top of each muffin.

Bake at 400 degrees (for my second batch I turned my temp down to 375 and I thought they cooked better) for 18-20 minutes or until a toothpick comes out clean. Serve warm.

I hope you enjoy these yummy muffins!

-Jaeme

