Hello fall! I am actually really excited for fall…pumpkin everything, apple scents, and yummy soups! Last weekend, my family and I went to Panera Bread in Albuquerque. I got their winter squash soup and I’m pretty sure my mouth was watering the entire time I was eating it…it was so good. Like SOOO good haha I have been wanting to make butternut squash soup for the longest time and this trip to Panera Bread definitely motivated me to find a good recipe. Since I loved the Panera Bread soup so much, I decided to see if I could find a similar one online. Good old google…found a recipe in .2 seconds and made it that night. The result?! I made the soup, ate two humungous bowls of it, and wished I had made more…not kidding one bit haha This soup not only screams fall, but it screams delicious and SUPER healthy. There is no butter or heavy cream, and does not have very many ingredients. I got the recipe from Hungry Healthy GirlI made only a few changes. The recipe posted below is her original recipe with my changes on the side (in maroon). Here ya go! :) 

photo 2-16

Ingredients: 

4 cups of peeled and cubed butternut squash, roasted
1 large apple, peeled, cored and cubed (I used a Honeycrisp. If you want your soup less sweet, you may want to use a Granny Smith.)
1/2 of a large yellow onion, diced
1 tbsp. coconut oil **I used olive oil
1/2 to 1 teaspoon curry powder **I used a little under 1 tsp.
3.5 cups vegetable broth ** I used chicken broth
1/2 cup almond milk (I used unsweetened vanilla almond milk.)
1 tsp salt + a few extra dashes
a few dashes of cinnamon

Directions:

Roast cubed butternut squash that has been seasoned with cinnamon and salt for 30 mins at 425 degrees F.
Meanwhile, in a large skillet over med-high heat, sauté apple and onion in coconut oil with curry powder and a few dashes of salt for about 10 mins and until softened.
Add broth, milk, and squash to the large skillet with the apple and onion and bring to a boil. Reduce heat and simmer uncovered for about 20 mins. Stir in salt to taste. I used 1 tsp of salt.
Use an immersion blender or transfer soup to a high-speed blender or food processor and blend until soup is smooth and creamy.

photo 1-16

Enjoy!!

McKell

