Tags

,

I have added a new category for beauty posts! If you are on a computer, the categories are on the sidebar. If you are on a phone, you can click on the tags at the bottom of the posts to see related posts or type a tag/category (such as exercise, recipes, health and wellness, beauty etc.) in the search box at the top of our blog.

For me, sharing beauty tips fits in with health and wellness because it helps bring confidence which is part of having a healthy outlook on life. Of course confidence comes from different places for everyone, but personally, doing small things that make me feel beautiful helps me feel better and happier about myself.

I love having my fingernails painted. It completes an outfit for me and really is a great accessory in my eyes. I think it is a fun way to add color or even some edginess (depending on the color you choose) to an outfit, and it helps me feel more “done up,” even when I’m really not.

The downside to painting my fingernails is that it only stays looking good for a couple of days before it starts chipping and looking ghetto. Boo. When I was working full time as I nurse I started going to salons and getting Shellac done. I LOVED it. My nails stayed looking good for weeks at a time, even when I was washing my hands at work a thousand times a day.

Once we started med school, going to nail salons wasn’t really an option anymore, but a few weeks ago I stumbled across this Shellac hack and decided to try it out and share my experience with you guys!

The original hack is from Mint Arrow and I was really happy with the results! Here are my nails after 5 days.

unnamed

 

There is one really small chip on my pointer finger, but otherwise, they pretty much look perfect! And I have not tried to be extra careful or anything, I wanted to test it out for real.

I tested two different ways because after reading some of the comments on the Mint Arrow blog, it seemed like people had some problems with the polish peeling. The first week I did a revised method and the second week I did the real way. I actually had no chipping at all the first week until 6 days in. The second week my pointer finger chipped at 4 days. So basically they are both great, but I had slightly better results the first week with the revised method.

What you need:

-Hard as Wraps-I did not use this because I don’t have problems with weak nails. If you want to use it, you can get it here
-Gelous Nail Gel-I got this on sale at Sallys Beauty Supply for $4.99. Find it hereThis is the key to the hack!! No skipping this!
-Nail polish of your choice
-Top coat

This is what Gelous Nail Gel looks like:
unnamed (3)

Revised Shellac Hack:

1 coat Gelous
let dry 2-3 minutes
1 coat nail polish
let dry 2-3 minutes
1 coat nail polish
let dry 2-3 minutes
1 coat top coat

*Make sure you get a good layer of Gelous on each nail and also make sure you are getting it all the way to the tip of your nails.

Original Mint Arrow Shellac Hack:
Found here

1 coat Hard As Wraps
let dry 2-3 minutes
1 coat Gelous
let dry 2-3 minutes
1 coat nail polish
let dry 2-3 minutes
1 coat Gelous
let dry 2-3 minutes
1 coat nail polish
let dry 2-3 minutes
1 coat top coat

*This feels like a lot of layers to me and I sort of think that is why it chipped sooner. I prefer the revised method but both were better than just normal nail polish!

Try it out and see what you think!

-Jaeme

 

 

 

