Hey guys! So remember the salmon that I posted last week? Remember how I said that I serve it with coconut rice and then didn’t give you the recipe? Well that was rude of me haha Today I am giving you the recipe! This recipe is a fun twist on brown rice. You can use regular brown rice, or instant brown rice. Both turn out good, it just depends on how much time you have to make it! Regular brown rice takes at least 45 minutes to cook. The past few times I have made coconut rice, I have not had very much time, so I have just used Minute brown rice. It takes about ten minutes from start to finish, and viola! You have a great side to serve with chicken, fish, steak, or shrimp.

IMG_1638-1

Ingredients:

  • 2 cups brown rice
  • 1 1/2 cups light coconut milk
  • 1/4 cup water 
  • 1 tsp sugar 
  • Splash of distilled white vinegar
  • Dash of salt and pepper

Mix all of the above ingredients, except for the rice, together in a saucepan. Bring to a boil and stir in rice. Return to a boil. Reduce heat to low, cover, and simmer for 5-7 minutes (depending on what the package says- different brands have slightly different times). Remove from heat, stir and cover. Let sit for an additional 5 minutes or until all water is absorbed. Fluff with fork and serve! 

Enjoy! Have an awesome Thursday!

-McKell

