My family and I love salmon. My daughter especially loves salmon. She gobbles it up like there is no tomorrow! I hope she always likes it that much! Fish is a great food item to add to your diet at least 2 times (Two servings per week: One serving is 3.5 ounces of cooked fish) per week. Why is fish so good for you? Fish is low in saturated fat and high in quality protein. It is high in omega-3 fatty acids, which help keep your heart healthy and your risk of cardiovascular disease low. Salmon, along with several other fatty fish, is high in two kinds of omega-3 fatty acids: Eicosapentaenoic acid (EPA) and docosahexaenoic acid (DHA). Both forms of omega-3 fatty acids have been found to reduce heart disease risk. To read more about the benefits of eating fish, click here.

When I used to think of making a salmon dinner, I used to think that it would take way too much time. I thought that salmon was a “fancy” dinner and I would only make it for special occasions. I have found a way to make my fancy salmon dinners one of my quickest meals during the week! My favorite recipe for salmon is so simple, and seriously does not take much preparation time. My husband asks for this dinner every single week without fail. Lately I have loved serving my salmon with brussel sprouts (they really are yummy…give em a try!) and coconut brown rice. I hope your family loves this dinner as much as mine does!

Ingredients for one serving of salmon:

  • 1 3.5 ounce Salmon Portion
  • 1 TBSP Lemon Juice
  • 1/4-1/2 tsp Lemon Pepper (I do a little less than 1/2 tsp for each salmon portion)
  • Dash of Sea Salt and Pepper (optional)

Preheat oven to 375 degrees. Lay a piece of tin foil on a baking dish. Place salmon portion on top of the tin foil.

photo 3-12

Pour lemon juice over the salmon. Evenly sprinkle the lemon pepper, sea salt and pepper on top of the salmon.

photo 1-15

Cover the salmon with another piece of tin foil, and pinch bottom and top layer of tin foil together.

photo 2-15

Bake salmon for 17-20 minutes or until fish flakes with a fork.

photo 2-14

I love using these salmon portions from SAMs Club. They are super good and easy to use.

Enjoy!!!

-McKell

