Tags

Awhile back we had a request to do a blog post about hair tips and how to have beautiful hair. Well I’m going to say I am not an expert on the subject but I am quiet proud of how far my hair has come from being very frail to long and full. 5 years ago I used to have frontal extensions just to add some length to the front of my over straightened hair. My hair would not get longer because it constantly was breaking and looking damaged. It took a major change in the way I treated my hair and the way I styled it to over come all the damage. Now my hair is long, full and healthy.

DSCN0158Before (Sad unhealthy Hair)

  DSC_0373After (My hair now)

 Here are a few tips you can do to help get healthier stronger hair even when your working out every day.

1. Don’t wash your hair everyday: Your hair needs the natural oils it produces to help nourish it and keep it strong. This can be hard when your working out and sweating, but I promise if you can do this it will help your hair.

2. Eat healthy and Drink plenty of water: Not only is it great for your body but eating right helps your hair. Make sure to be getting enough protein in your diet to help build strong hair.  Story for you – One of my friends in High School stopped liking the taste of meat and poultry and other protein based foods and stopped eating them. She was like a vegetarian in a way but didn’t supplement the loss of protein in her diet with other protein rich foods. Because of this her hair started to fall out. Scary!! It became very thin and even now that she has corrected her eating habits her hair is still trying to recover. So Eat Well

3. Dry your hair with care: If you are either towel drying or using a blow dryer you should be doing it carefully. When towel drying do it softly, don’t pull, rub, or twist to violently. If you are blow drying use a cool heat setting, it may take longer but it will not cause as much damage as a hot heat would.

4. Take vitamins: Take a nail, skin, and hair vitamin. They are full of Biotin and Folic Acid which help your hair grower stronger. This is why pregnant women’s hair grows so great when they are pregnant. It’s the prenatal vitamins :)

5. Eliminate heat styling: Stop using a straightener, curling iron, blow dryer, or whatever else you use to style your hair everyday. The heat is so damaging and leaves your hair brittle and full of split ends. This was the biggest help for me. I have naturally curly friz hair and it does not look cute just air drying or even by being blow dried. So I used to straighten it to death everyday. My hair got shorter and shorter because it was just breaking off at the ends. I finally saw the light and changed my ways. I hardly straighten my hair at all now and I go up to 3 days before using a heat styling tool on it. Major Help!

6. Use good hair products: Use a good quality shampoo, conditioner, leave in conditioner, and heat protection serum. Get your products from a salon or trusted beauty store. Try to avoid cheap over chemical filled grocery store products.

7. Message your scalp: Every time you wash your hair message your scalp for at lest 5 minutes to stimulate blood flow and hair growth. You need a healthy scalp to have healthy hair.

8. Trim only when needed: If you are trying to grow your hair out then skip a rotation of getting your hair trimmed. (If you do not have major split ends that is) Let your hair stylist know you are trying to grow out your hair and that you don’t want to cut it every time and that when you do cut it to only take of the needed split ends.

All of these tips have helped me on my hair recover journey. The biggest thing that I did was embrace the style of hair I have. I am never going to have beautiful straight hair everyday without it being ruined. I now wash my hair, dry it on low heat and then style it with a curling iron. I then do not use any heat on it for 3-4 days. I use dry shampoo and do hair styles that are cute but not damaging. Because of this my hair has shown great improvement. What tips do you do to have healthy hair? Let me know :)

-Shauna

