Tags

,

I hope everyone is having a fabulous Labor Day weekend! We are headed to the Buffalo Wing Festival in Buffalo, NY today (as long as the rain holds out). We went last year and it was really fun!

I get asked a lot of questions in terms of what I do for exercise, how often I run, what I do besides running, etc. Today I want to lay out my weekly exercise schedule for you. Although this is what my week usually looks like, it is by no means set in stone and it changes with how I feel or what is going on. So this is sort of my guideline and my goal for each week. A weekly schedule is going to be different for everyone and will depend on the time you have, what you like to do, and your fitness level, but hopefully this can help you create your own weekly exercise plan!

to-do-list-clipart

I like to exercise 5 days a week. I always take Sunday off, then I take one more rest day which changes depending on how I feel. I find that if I try to exercise more than that, I feel exhausted by the end of the week, so this is what works best for me.

*This is my plan when I am not training for a race. When I have a race, I focus a lot more on running.

Sunday: Rest day. I try to make it a point to go on a 2-3 mile walk on my rest days.

Monday: 3-4 mile run, followed by at home strength training. I like to keep my first run of the week shorter. I am usually coming off of a long run on Saturday, and I also almost always have my stroller on Monday, so this works for me. After my run I spend about 15 minutes doing strength training at home. Usually I do ab work (examples here, here), core work (planks-examples here), and push ups.

Tuesday: At home workout (if it’s a really nice day outside and I can’t pass it up, I will go on a 4-5 mile run instead). I either do one of the exercises we have posted here on our blog (find a few here, here, here, here-there are many more under our “exercise” and our “workout” tag on the sidebar if you are on a computer, or type that tag in our search bar on your phone) or I do the workout video, Jillian Michaels Ripped in 30.

Wednesday: Treadmill hill/speed work (find examples here, here, here), followed by a Pilates class. I actually enjoy having a day to do hill and speed work on the treadmill because it changes up my regular running routine. I run until my Pilates class starts, so I usually try to have 30-40 minutes on the treadmill. I have loved incorporating Pilates into my workout regimen. I feel SO good afterwards, I feel like it rejuvenates me. The class I go to is a great workout, the teacher is super intense!

Thursday: Spin class followed by weight lifting at the gym. It has been really fun to use spin class as a cross training day. Spinning is high energy and makes me sweat like crazy! Since this is the only day I weight lift at the gym, I pretty much do a whole body workout. I focus on areas that are harder to work at home with only my 5 lb weights :). I tend to focus on my triceps, different ab work than what I can do at home (some examples here) and my legs.

Friday: Rest day. Again, I try to make sure I take Kate on a good 2-3 mile walk. As I said above, this rest day sort of changes depending on the week. If I have a really long run coming up on Saturday, I like to use this as my rest day to make sure I feel good for my long run. Other weeks, if I am still tired from my long run when Monday rolls around, I will use that as my rest day instead and go on a shorter run on Friday. I just adjust to how I feel.

Saturday: Long run day! If I am not training for a race I like to go between 7-9 miles. If I am training, it will be longer. This is the only day that I don’t have to run with my stroller, so I take advantage and go farther! I sometimes do a little strength training, usually planks and push ups if I have any energy left after my run, but that definitely does not always happen on Saturday.

I hope this can help you create a weekly exercise plan that fits your schedule. Enjoy your weekend!

See Shaunas weekly workout schedule here

-Jaeme

 

 

