Tags

Yay For Friday and its Labor Day weekend so that means its a 3 day weekend! Woot Woot! I am up at Bear Lake in Utah at my families cabin or really our home away form home enjoying some more lake time and good family fun. I am getting really depressed that summer is ending.

But before I left I went to my Young Women’s mutual night on Wednesday and we had a bread making class. It was a lot of fun and a great skill for everyone to learn. The recipe they had us do for the class was a basic white bread that has a lot of versatility with how it can be used. photo 3 photo 2Here are some pictures from the night.

Because of this class I decided I wanted to share my Mom’s wheat bread recipe with you guys. It is a great recipe that helps bring wonderful, fresh, preservative free bread into your home. My family LOVES this bread and could just eat it all day long if I let them :)

Whole Wheat Bread

I am using my Bosch mixer during this recipe. You can use a kitchen aid or whatever else you have but you will have to 1/2 the recipe so you only can make 2 loafs.

Ingredients:

Yield 4 large Loafs

2/3 cup Honey
2/3 cup oil (canola)
1/3 cup molasses
1 Tbsp Salt
1 Tbsp Cider Vinegar
5 cups Hot tap Water
2 pkgs of Rapid Rise Yeast
12-14 cups Flour ( I use a mixture of 100% whole wheat bread flour with regular white bread flour. I am for about 2/3 wheat and 1/4 white. The purpose of this is because if you do all wheat flour the bread gets really dense and heavy)

Directions:

Preheat oven to warm

1. Measure oil, honey and molasses into mixer.

2. Add in salt and cider vinegar

3. Add in 5 cups Hot water

4. Add in 2 cups of whole wheat flour and 2 pkgs of rapid rise yeast

5. Start your mixer and let things blend together. Slowly start adding in the rest of the flour and continue mixing until the dough pulls away from the sides and starts to stick to the center. The dough will still be sticky when done.

6. Remove dough and put it on oiled bread board.

7. Cut into 4 equal pieces and shape into smooth loaves.

8. Place into 4 sprayed glass large loaf pans.

9. Put pans in your warmed oven and allow to raise until loaves are doubled in size (about 25 mins)

10. Leave pans in oven and turn oven temperature to 350* and Bake 25-28 minutes or until lightly golden browned.

11. Take out of oven turn over pans to remove bread immediately.

Like I said the recipe makes 4 loafs so I usually freeze my extra loafs and then just pull them out and thaw when we run out of bread.

I hope you enjoy this Bread recipe and you like it as much as I do. Have a great weekend guys!

-Shauna

