Tags

Hello! How has the first half of your week been? I started the week by celebrating my daughters 2nd birthday! We just got back from Utah the night before so it was a little chaotic trying to get everything set for it, but it was a fun day! We basically just let her play and do all of her favorite things, and she LOVED saying “Happy Birthday!” over and over again.

Last Thursday I met up with my dad and sister for a run. I decided I wanted to make it a negative split run. This was my first time actually planning to do this, and I think it was really awesome and something I definitely want to incorporate more into my training.

So what is this “negative split” talk? A negative split run is when you start slower than you finish. You can do this two ways depending on how long your run is. You can either run each mile faster (shorter distance runs), or you can run the first half of your run slower than the second half (longer distance runs). This is the opposite of what most runners do and it’s hard to imagine that you can finish a run stronger than you start, but you can! The key is to start out slower than your average pace and work your way to a faster pace. By doing this, you will conserve your energy at the beginning so you can speed up as you go.

Here is my negative split run from Thursday:
unnamed (2)
Mile 1: 8:38
Mile 2: 8:06
Mile 3: 8:05
Mile 4: 7:49

I was definitely tired at the end, but it was so fun to push myself to continue to speed up! And I have to give another shout out to my awesome Garmin because it was SO easy to watch my pace on it to successfully finish the run.

unnamed (1)

Now that we know what it is, what is so great about running negative splits? Negative split training helps you prepare not to take off too fast at the beginning of a race. It teaches you to pace yourself so you can finish strong instead of burning out. Running negative splits also helps prepare you to run through those tough moments. They help you be not only physically strong, but mentally strong as well!

Get out there and try a negative split!

-Jaeme

 

