Tags

,

It is the last Saturday in July….how crazy! Before we know it kids will be back in school and fall will be here. I don’t know about you, but I am NOT ready for fall. Sometimes by the end of summer I am ready for cooler temps and my fall wardrobe, but not this year. I need at least one extra month of summer!

I got my first ever Garmin GPS watch for my birthday in June. Prior to that I was using the Map My Run app on my phone. Map My Run worked great for me, but I was at the point in my running that I really needed to be able to monitor my run closer. Having all the information right on my wrist has been so wonderful!

Now that I have had adequate time to test out my watch, I want to share my thoughts on it with you. This post is all my opinion and is not sponsored by Garmin in any way.

I decided to get the Garmin Forerunner 10. This is the cheapest of all the Garmin watches and it retails at $129.00 in the United States. This is what it looks like:

unnamed (3)

Isn’t it cute?! The first thing that drew me towards this particular model was the size. I have small wrists and those bigger gps faces do not fit right on me. This watch is so light, I don’t even notice it when I’m running and I LOVE that. The band tightens up really small; my 8 year old nephew wore it once for a kids run and it fit him great, so it really does go small.  It also comes in a bunch of different colors (lime green, purple, pink, black, and orange) which is fun!

Some features of the Forerunner 10 include:

1. Calorie Tracker: You enter your weight into the watch so your calories can be tracked. The GPS does not have a heart rate monitor (more on that in a minute) so it is not the most accurate you can get for calories, but it calculates my calories per mile about the same as I have calculated out myself, so it is accurate enough for me.

2. Pace: For me this is one of the most important parts of having a GPS. The GPS connects every second to give you an accurate and up to date pace. Every mile it will give you your average pace for that mile, and after your run is complete you will get your overall average pace.

3. Distance: This is the other thing that is most important to me. It continually tracks your distance. You can set it to beep at you at certain intervals, for example, I like it to beep and display my average pace and my distance every mile.

4. Time: It tracks how long you are going and also has today’s date and the current time.

5. Virtual Pacer: I don’t use this feature, but you can set a goal pace that you want to keep and it will alert you if you are going faster/slower then your set pace.

6. History/Personal Records: It will show the information from your last 7 activities on the GPS, but you can plug it into “Garmin Connect” and it will show all of your history. It will also show personal records for: longest run, fastest 1 mile, fastest 1k, fastest 5k, fastest 10k and fastest half marathon.

7. Battery Life: This watch has a 5 hour battery life when in use and 5 weeks in power save mode.

8. Waterproof: It is waterproof to a depth of 50 meters. I thought this was really great even though I don’t really know if I will ever put it in the water, but it is good to know just in case :).

9. Auto Pause: I really love this setting. Since I tend to get stopped at stop lights, I like to know that it is not tracking my time while I am standing there waiting. I would never remember to hit pause and if I did, I would probably forget to restart it, so this is a good feature for me! It pauses when you stop and restarts when you start up again. I have noticed that it is pretty sensitive to stopping/starting so it seems to work really well.

10. Backlight: The watch has a good backlight.

11. Display: The display is really easy to read. The watch has 3 screens you can go between while running. The first is the current date and time. The second is your activity time and your distance. The third screen shows your calories and your current pace.

Those are the main features of this watch. It definitely does not do as much as the more expensive Garmin watches, but for the price, I think it has a lot of great features!

Of course everything has pros and cons, so this is my list.

Pros

  • I have already said this, but I love the size of this watch! I love the look of it in general.
  • It is SO easy to use. I have tried to use more expensive Garmin watches and this one is significantly easier to use than many of them.
  • It honestly does everything I need it to, and for the price, I don’t think you can beat it.
  • All of the features of the watch have worked perfectly so far.

Cons

  • I wish it would save more than just your last 7 activities on the actual watch. I like to look back on past runs and go over them, so I do miss being able to see a long history without hooking it up to my computer.
  • Every once in a while it takes a few minutes to find a satellite. This mostly happens when I am right in front of my parents house, so it may just be a dead spot, I don’t know.

I cannot put this under my cons list because I do not care about it, but I do need to add that it does not have a heart rate monitor. The Garmin Forerunner 15 which is just one step up does have a heart rate monitor, but since I don’t care about that I didn’t want to pay the extra for it.

I am very happy with my Forerunner 10 and I would definitely purchase this watch again! Having a GPS watch has been so nice and I feel like it has helped me increase my average pace since I can continually monitor it.

I hope you found this review helpful! Please ask me any questions you may have in the comments section.

-Jaeme

