Tags

Happy Saturday! I hope everyone has some fun things planned for today! I am running the Steel Days 5k in American Fork, Utah and then watching the parade. I have only been to one other parade with Kate and she LOVED it and was dancing and twirling the entire time, so I am excited to watch another one with her!

Today I want to talk about how to snack smart. Grabbing a snack can be a great way to curb hunger until your next meal, but if you aren’t careful, it can also be a way to pack in a ton of extra calories.

Fruit and veggies are always a good way to go when choosing a snack, but sometimes you just need something different. In those instances, it is important that portion control comes into play. Pay attention to nutrition facts! Even if you are not very experienced in reading them, look at the serving size and measure out what one serving actually is. It is easy to sit down with a box a wheat thins and munch down until the box is almost gone (I’m guilty of this….) and be totally unaware of how many extra calories you just consumed.

So what is the best way to practice portion control with snacking? I have found that for me, the best way to do this is to measure out serving sizes ahead of time so that when I want a snack, it is quick and easy to grab only one serving.

My favorite snack to do this with is the WildRoots 100% Natural Trail Mix. I know it is available at both Costco and Sams Club, but I haven’t seen it anywhere else. I love that this trail mix isn’t just candy with a few nuts thrown in. It has cashews, almonds, yogurt chips, crasins, wild blueberries, and dried strawberries (the Costco version does not have the strawberries). It is the perfect mix of sweet and salty.

unnamed (4)

As soon as I buy the bag (especially important with this since Costco and Sams Club both carry huge sizes of everything), I measure out the entire bag into 1/4 cup servings (one serving according to the nutrition facts), and put them in small sandwich bags. I keep a big tupperware full of these sandwich bags in my pantry. I love taking a little baggy of trailmix with me to the gym or anytime we are going to be out and about for a while. Kate loves to eat everything out of it except the nuts, so it is a very easy snack for her too. 

This is just one example, but you really can do this with any snacks that you love!

For other tips on portion control, read McKells post here

Have a great day!

-Jaeme

