Tags

DSC_0345Hello Everyone! I hope you guys are all having a fabulous Sunday. Sunday is suppose to be the day of rest but I am running around like crazy today because tomorrow is my baby girl’s 2nd birthday. 2nd Birthday People. When did this happen?! I thought children knew they were not a loud to grow up. Ugh. But besides being emotionally stunned from having a toddler and no longer baby I am also planning an Ice Cream Parlor Birthday party for her. I am not going to lie I go a little crazy over the top with my parties. But I honestly love it. I love creating a fun atmosphere and DIYing fun things to make every party special. I know it is totally more for me but I hope Scarlett enjoys it and one day realizes all the hard work Mommie put into her big Day :) If you want to see how the party turned out I will post pictures on Tuesday and give you a break down of what I did.

Well on to the recipe for today. I have been looking for a fun summer treat that I could easily make for parties or BBQ’s and came across this one on Pinterest from Dessert for Two . It is so simple and easy to make but tastes delicious and is much healthier than an original ice cream sandwich. All the concept is basically using 2 watermelon slices as your outside cookie part and then using the sherbet as the ice cream filling. Its that simple.

Ingredients:

Watermelon
Raspberry Sherbet (here is a link for a homemade recipe I found)

Directions:

Scoop your Sherbet into an 8×8 foil lined baking dish (leave a foil overhang for easy removal) and smooth/flatten it out. Place it back into the freezer to harden back up again.

DSC_0334DSC_0337

Cut up your watermelon into the sizes and shapes you want the sandwiches to be. I did the basic triangle piece and made it about 1/2 inch thick.

DSC_0340

Next take your sherbet back out of the freezer and slice it using a pizza slicer into the matching shape and thickness of the watermelon. Lift the sides of the foil and remove sherbet from the pan.

DSC_0342

Place the Sherbet Slice on top of the first watermelon slice and then top it off with the second watermelon slice. Do a little press squish movement to make the sandwich stay together and serve. Serve these immediately being that they will not keep for long.DSC_0344

Sit back and sink your teeth into these delicious babes during a hot summer night. I hope you and your guests enjoy these as much as I have.DSC_0346

-Shauna

 

