Tags

DSC_0359I tried this recipe out the other night and it turned out really well. When I have made Enchiladas in the past my husband hates how soggy they got from to much liquid. So I came up with this recipe that is healthy and does not have any liquid in it. The prep time for the recipe was pretty quick which made it even better for me and my busy schedule. So no more talk here is the recipe;

Healthy Chicken and Black Bean Enchiladas

Ingredients:

One pound chicken (I used one of my pre-cooked frozen servings)
2 Tbsps of water2 Tbsps of organic taco seasoning or more if you like
1/2 large onion diced
1 cup black beans washed and drained
1 small can of diced olives
6-8 100% whole wheat tortillas
Colby jack cheese

Directions:

Pre-heat your oven to 350* and spray a 9×13 pan with non-stick cooking spray.

Cook your chicken in a non stick frying pan until it’s no longer pink inside. Dice or slice it into small pieces.

DSC_0344Once chicken is done add water and taco seasoning and mix together. Remove chicken from pan and set aside in a bowl for later.

DSC_0346Add diced onion to the same pan and cook until starting to turn a little brown. Add black beans and let them cook for a min. Remove them from the pan and add to the same bowl as the chicken.

DSC_0349DSC_0350Add the can of olives to the chicken mixture also and mix everything together well.

DSC_0351Grab one of the whole wheat tortillas and fill the middle with chicken mixture. About 1/3 cup or a little more.

DSC_0354Next sprinkle cheese on top of chicken mixture and then fold the tortilla up and place fold side down in 9×13 pan.

DSC_0355Repeat filling with chicken mixture and sprinkling with cheese on the rest of the tortillas and place them in backing dish. Once they are all filed place pan in the oven and bake for 25-30 mins. Until tops start to turn a little golden brown.

DSC_0356Once done cooking place one enchilada on a plate and drizzle with enchilada sauce if you would like. I served mine with a spinach salad and grilled vegetables on the side.

DSC_0358DSC_0363Both my husband and I really enjoyed these and I hope you guys do as well. Let me know what you think. Have a wonderful Tuesday everyone.

-Shauna

