Tags

,

My husband has been doing Crossfit for about 2 months now. He is always telling me about how fun and hard the workouts are. This past Memorial Day, I decided to do one of the workouts with him. It was super hard, and I still can’t lift my arms haha, but it was actually really fun (I know that sounds crazy!). The Memorial Day workout was a little bit different than most other workouts. This workout is dedicated to a fallen soldier named Michael Murphy. The description of this workout is on crossfit.com. It reads,

In memory of Navy Lieutenant Michael Murphy, 29, of Patchogue, N.Y., who was killed in Afghanistan June 28th, 2005. This workout was one of Mike’s favorites and he’d named it “Body Armor”. From here on it will be referred to as “Murph” in honor of the focused warrior and great American who wanted nothing more in life than to serve this great country and the beautiful people who make it what it is.Partition the pull-ups, push-ups, and squats as needed. Start and finish with a mile run. If you’ve got a twenty pound vest or body armor, wear it.

It was really cool to me that everyone involved in Crossfit, did this workout on Memorial Day to honor this man.

Okay, so yes it is a pretty hard workout, I’m not gonna lie, but you don’t have to feel like you have to do the whole thing the first time you try it. Start slowly and work your way up! Remember that it is more important to start out slowly and not get hurt then to finish it! P.S. I did not do this with a 20 lb vest….I might have to save that for next year haha Let me know if you do it! Here is the workout:

photo-56

Tips and Tricks

Thats a lot of pull ups, push ups and squats! There are tricks to help you get through it all. We did the 5-10-15 trick. We ran 1 mile and then did 20 rounds of 5 pull ups (crossfit “kipping” pull ups. Read here to learn how to do them with proper technique), 10 push ups, and 15 squats (no weight, just air squats). You really can break it up however you want to.

Have fun! Don’t forget to time yourself! And if you try it, make sure to tell me! Good luck and have a happy Thursday! :)

-McKell

 

