About a year ago, one of my friends hosted a lunch at her house and made veggie tacos topped with avocado cream and feta cheese. Ever since then I have wanted to try it out myself, and I finally did. It definitely didn’t disappoint! Even my non-veggie loving husband approved (although he did nicely add that although they had a good flavor, it may have been a little too many veggies in one sitting….haha).

photo 2

These are extremely healthy and perfect for summer! I really loved them and can’t wait to make them again. Best of all, you can use whatever veggies you want or have on hand.

Veggie Tacos with Avocado Cream and Feta
This is my version, but I found the original recipe here

1 small summer squash
1/2 white onion
1/2 green pepper
1/2 red pepper
1 tomato diced
handful of spinach leaves
1 TBSP olive oil
2 tsp cumin
2 tsp red pepper flakes (can use more or less if you prefer)
Feta Cheese
Tortillas

Heat olive oil in pan. Season vegetables and add all to oil except tomato and spinach. Cook until soft. Add tomatoes and spinach for the last few minutes of cooking.

photo 1 (2)

Avocado Cream:
1 ripe avocado
1/3 cup plain yogurt (I used my homemade yogurt. Recipe here)
1/4 cup cilantro
1 TBSP lime juice

Blend all ingredients together in a food processor.

Assemble tacos with cooked vegetables on bottom of tortilla, then avocado cream, and topped with feta cheese.

Enjoy!

-Jaeme

