Tags

My friend Katie brought homemade yogurt on our trip to New York City for our half marathon and it was amazing! The thought of making my own yogurt had never crossed my mind, and even after I tasted it I was skeptical of making it because I thought it would be really difficult. I was wrong! It is so easy and just like Katie told me, “It basically makes itself.”

photo 4 (1)

 

I couldn’t believe how much better homemade yogurt was and it is also so much cheaper. Normally, I buy whole milk yogurt in a 32oz container for my daughter and it is usually around $3.50. To make this yogurt (I made the smaller recipe), I spent $1.11 on the quart of milk, I already had dry milk, and 0.88 cents on the yogurt for the start. I also won’t need to buy yogurt next time because I will set aside enough of this batch to use as the start for my next batch. I got two and a half pint size jars out of that quart of milk. Such a better deal!

I also love that I know every ingredient in it. Milk, dry milk, and a small amount of yogurt for the start. That’s it!

I am posting a smaller recipe and a larger recipe. The smaller recipe makes about 2.5 pints and the larger recipe makes about 5 quarts.

Yogurt

Make sure you have:
1. Sterile jars and lids-either pints or quarts depending on the recipe you are making
2. A good plain yogurt for your start-after you make your first batch, set some aside to be your start next time

Ingredients:
Small batch
1/2 cup plain yogurt for start
1 quart milk
1/4 cup powdered milk

 

Large batch
2 cups plain yogurt for start
1 gallon milk
1 cup powdered milk
photo 1

Directions:
In a pot, mix milk and powdered milk together with a whisk. Begin heating it on the stove top. Heat until mixture reaches 175 degrees or almost boiling.
photo 4Turn off heat and allow mixture to cool to 110 degrees or until the outside of the pot is warm and a think skin has formed on the top of the milk. Stir in yogurt start.
photo 3Pour mixture into glass jars and place lids on tightly.
photo 1 (1)
Place jars in warm environment (above 100 degrees) for at least 4 hours. To check, turn a jar carefully on its side. If the mixture moves like milk, place it back in the warm environment for at least 2 more hours. If it moves like jello, it can go in the fridge.

Store yogurt in the fridge. I like to eat mine with a little brown sugar (or honey), granola (recipe here), and fruit.
photo 4 (1)

Remember to save some of your yogurt as a start for your next batch!

Some extra tips:
Starter: You can take some yogurt out for your next starter as soon as it is done. Put it in the freezer and it will be ready for future use.
Warm environment: I used my small cooler filled with hot tap water. Fill it until the water is just below the lid of the jars. You can also use a crockpot if you have pint size jars. Place the jars in and add hot tap water until it is just below the lid of the jars, then cover with the lid and a towel. Do NOT plug your crockpot in.
Length of time in the warm environment: I made my yogurt around 9pm and got it out of the warm environment around 7:30 the next morning.  It had set up well overnight and was even more set after it had been in the fridge for a few hours. It can be in the warm environment for up to 24 hours. The longer it is in there, the more tart your yogurt will be.
Flavor: This recipe makes plain yogurt. You can add sugar and vanilla to make it vanilla flavored or blended fruit and sugar for fruit flavored yogurt. I have never done this so I do not know amounts of anything to use, but let me know if you find a fun flavor!
Milk: I used whole milk because that is what I like my daughter to eat. Any milk (whole, 2%, 1%, etc.) should work, just remember, the less fat the milk has, the thinner your yogurt will be.

I thought it was really fun to make my own yogurt and I hope you do too!

-Jaeme

