Tags

DSC_0300If you guys are like me I love to make pancakes or waffles for breakfast on Sunday. It is something that my husband and I have done since we were married. But one thing I don’t like is using the pre-made pancake mixes like Bisquick or Kroger for example. I was searching on Pinterest one day and found this recipe from Dairy Goodness that I really liked. The fresh apples with cinnamon in the pancakes are to die for and became one of my go to Sunday pancake recipes. This recipe is quiet large and makes a lot of pancakes which I like because I then freeze them and can use them throughout the week as breakfasts for my little girl. But if you don’t want to make that many you can easily half the recipe.

Apple Cinnamon Pancakes:

Ingredients-

1 1/2 cups (375 mL) all-purpose flour
1 1/2 cups (375 mL) whole wheat flour
1 tbsp (15 mL) baking powder
1 tsp (5 mL) ground cinnamon
1/2 tsp (2 mL) salt
3 eggs
2 1/2 cups (625 mL) fat-free milk 
1/4 cup (60 mL) butter, melted
2 tbsp (30 mL) maple syrup or packed brown sugar
1 1/2 cups (375 mL) shredded apple, (about 2 large)
Yield: 20 medium sized pancakes
*(I have tried the recipe using all whole wheat flour, it makes the pancakes very dense and thick. It did not change the taste much though)
Preparation
In a large bowl combine both flours, baking powder, cinnamon, and salt
DSC_0292In a separate bowl, whisk together eggs, milk, butter, and maple syrup.
DSC_0293Pour wet mixture over your dry and mix until slightly combined. Then add your apples and gently mix again. (a few lumps should remain)
DSC_0294DSC_0291  DSC_0295

 

In large nonstick skillet over medium heat sprayed with cooking spray, scoop about 1/3 cup (80 mL) batter per pancake into skillet. Cook for 2 min or until bubbles start to form in batter. Flip and cook other side for 1 to 2 min longer or until golden and puffed. Repeat with remaining batter, adjusting heat as necessary to prevent burning.
DSC_0296These pancakes are one of my favorites and I hope you enjoy them as much as my family has. I also hope that by making fresh pancakes from real ingredients you will never want to go back to those preservatives filled pre-made kind. Let me know how you liked this recipe or what changes you made to it. Happy Sunday Everyone :)

Shauna

 

